General Information

General Information

The Canon Law Society of Great Britain and Ireland holds its Annual Conference in the month of May, usually between the liturgical feasts of The Ascension of The Lord and Pentecost.  The venue is a location, usually a hotel, which can accommodate over 100 delegates.  The conference venue alternates among the three jurisdictions of the three Episcopal Conferences which make up the Society. That is, England and Wales, Ireland, and Scotland. In the fourth year of the cycle the Conference is held in Rome.   Some past locations have included Swords, London Colney, Sligo, Renfrew, Edinburgh, Killarney, Harrogate, Gateshead, Derry, Aviemore, Galway Bay, Rome and Stirling.  

Attendance at the Annual Conference is for members of the Society. If you would like to be considered as a member please contact the administrative Secretary. 

A non-refundable registration fee is requested to cover the costs of administration and the travel and accommodation expenses of the Speakers and invited Guests.  The registration fee is requested in December/January prior to the Conference.   Payment for the Conference, which includes accommodation and meals, is settled well before the start of the Conference. 

Speakers at the Annual Conference are individuals who possess valuable expertise and experience in the field of Canon Law. At past conferences speakers have included, among others, members of the Society, members of the Roman Curia and Dicasteries, Members of Religious Orders, Professors of Canon Law, Dignateries, The Hierarchy, Members of a Diocesan Curia, Members of a Tribunal, Civil Lawyers and members of the Judiciary.

All enquiries regarding the Annual Conference are made to the Administrative Secretary. 

Mrs Kate Dunn
Administrative Secretary CLSGBI
Diocesan Curia
8 Corsehill Road
T: 01292 294 392